The heroin epidemic has led states to have very strict laws regarding this drug. West Virginia isn't an exception to this, so if you are accused of any heroin-related charges, you are facing some very serious penalties that mustn't be ignored.
Even possession of heroin for personal use has strict penalties. On a first offense, which is considered a misdemeanor, you are facing 90 days to six months in jail. You are also facing a fine of up to $1,000.
On a first offense of heroin possession, you might have the option of an alternative sentence. You would have to plead guilty and successfully complete a probation program. Once you complete the program, the charges are dismissed.
Subsequent heroin possession charges have penalties that are even more strict. In fact, a second possession charge's penalties are double that of the first offense. Those are very harsh penalties, especially if you are a heroin addict who doesn't know where to turn to get clean and you are only doing the drug out of desperation.
Selling, dealing, manufacturing, and trafficking heroin are felony charges in West Virginia. All of these charges are associated with time in prison and fines if you are convicted. A first offense of dealing heroin comes with a possible prison sentence of 1 to 15 years.
In all heroin-related cases, you should explore the options that you have. You may have options for a plea deal or other defense strategies, even if you aren't facing a first time possession charge. Understanding the options that you have can help you to decide how you want to build your defense and what choices you are willing to consider.
Source: FindLaw, "West Virginia Heroin Laws," accessed Dec. 02, 2016