Marijuana laws in West Virginia provide strict penalties for people who are facing charges related to this drug. Even though many other states have taken steps to decriminalize the drug, West Virginia still has strict penalties.
If you are charged with possession of marijuana, you are facing a misdemeanor charge. This charge can land you in jail for 90 days to six months. It also comes with a fine of up to $1,000.
Drug paraphernalia charges are also misdemeanor charges. These charges come with a fine of up to $5,000. You also face an incarceration of six months to one year if you are convicted of this charge.
Attempting to defraud a drug screening is also a misdemeanor charge. It comes with a fine of up to $10,000 and up to a year in jail.
All instances of selling or distributing marijuana are felony charges. These charges come with a one-year mandatory minimum in prison with a five-year maximum. A fine of up to $15,000 is also possible.
In the case of a charge that involves an action that occurs within 1,000 feet of a school or to a minor, the mandatory minimum prison term is two years.
These charges also pertain to hashish and concentrates. The penalties for these are the same as the corresponding charge for possession, sale or distribution.
Ultimately, you need to find out what options you have for a defense so that you can wage war against these serious charges. Let these penalties spur you into action and provide you with the fuel to keep moving forward with your defense.
Source: NORML Foundation, “West Virginia Laws & Penalties,” accessed May 11, 2017